10th Anniversary Giveaway!

On April 30th, it will be ten years since the "W2LJ - QRP - Do More With Less" blog was born.

In appreciation for all who read this blog, I am going to give something away to one lucky reader. I have a new, mint condition, unused, complete sheet of fifty United States Amateur Radio stamps, issued in 1964 on the 50th Anniversary of the ARRL - Scott #1260. I am going to have the sheet matted and framed - ready for display on some deserving shack wall. All I ask is that you send an e-mail to w2lj@arrl.net - entitled "Blog Anniversary Giveaway". Include your name, call sign and mailing address.

Any Amateur Radio op worldwide can enter. I will package and ship the framed stamps to any destination that the United States Post Office will accept.

The names and call signs will be loaded into a software program such as RandomPicker on April 30th and a winner will be determined. The winner will be announced here, and then the framed stamps will be posted.

Good luck, and thank you for reading!

Sunday, January 18, 2009

No Luck

I went down the basement last night, to get on the air; only to find both 40 and 80 Meters totally dead. Well, I shouldn't say totally; but the signals were few, far between and definitely weak. I heard some Europeans coming through on 80 Meters, participating in some contest. I wasn't familiar with the exchange and was not much in the mood for non-substantial contest QSOs.

This afternoon, things haven't improved much. I'm hearing various nets; but not much in the realm of regular ol' ragchewin'. I called CQ and tuned around on both 20 and 40 for about 45 minutes and came away empty handed.

So, for the moment, I thought I'd share something else - not radio related. But it's definitely something you can do when the bands are pitifully dead. My dear wife gave me two books for Christmas and I finished the second last night after my lack of success on the air.

I love to read! My Mom instilled a love for reading in me and my sister early in our lives. A treat for us was to go to the library and check out a bunch of books. I don't read as much as I should; or would like. However, since last summer, I have read a series of books that I would highly recommend.

The author is James Rollins; and the books are thrillers, much in the tradition of Tom Clancy, Larry Bond and Dan Brown. The title of the books, which should be read in order are:

1) Map of Bones
2) The Black Order
3) The Judas Strain
3) The Last Oracle

The stories revolve around a central character, Grayson Pierce, who works for Sigma Command, which is part of DARPA. The Sigma Command is made up of professional scientist/soldiers and the stories involve their adventures, a la' "save the world from destruction" scenarios.

It's definitely fun, action paced reading and the books are very hard to put down. They're not involved with radio in any way; but the plots do involve science and scientific theory. I hope you enjoy them as much as I did.

73 de Larry W2LJ

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Good to see you back at the blog. It has been a dry spell while you were sick. Glad to hear you are better. I will check at the library Tuesday on these books and give them a read cul de N0NBD Paul